Christmas Cookies!

Dave, my husband, gave me several cookbooks for Christmas, and some new bakeware. He was out at his favorite comic and game shop tonight, so I had a lovely Friday evening to myself. 

I watched “Breakfast at Tiffany’s” for the first time, and “South Park: Bigger, Longer, and Uncut” for the millionth time. Talk about two totally different movies! I also tried a recipe from one of my new cookbooks: “The Cookies&Cups Cookbook” by Shelly Jaronsky, published by Gallery Books. First up are Salty Browned Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies, the cover recipe. 

I ran out of all-purpose flour, and had to substitute a cup and a half of bread flour. I don’t know if it really made a difference in the results, because these are some fantastic cookies! The recipe was easy to follow and the baking time was accurate for my oven; 12 minutes at 350 degrees. However I did notice that the batches on my new, shinier pans are a little more raised. The batch on my older, darkened pan, is flatter and more dense. The density could be from the bread flour. Guess I’ll just have to buy more all-purpose flour and make them again to compare! 

Dave is looking forward to these cookies, so I’m excited to have him try them. He is an AMAZING cook, so anytime I can make something he enjoys I get warm fuzzies. We will be taking the cookies along with artichoke and spinach dip to my friend Erin’s house for a New Years Eve of games and snacks. 

Sunday and Monday I’ll be trying out two soup recipes from another new cookbook. As I try new recipes I’m going to make notes in the cookbooks about how they came out, and any changes I made or want to make. Stay tuned! 

Leave a Reply

