The Secret Ingredient is Love. Also Chili Powder, Lots of Chili Powder.

Sunday night is cooking night! Tonight at Dave’s suggestion, I made a chicken tortilla casserole for my lunches for the workweek.

I got the recipe from an O (Oprah) Magazine maybe a year or two ago. It was in a monthly feature where they provide three recipes for theee key ingredients. Chicken, spinach, and corn tortillas were featured. It’s a layer of tortillas, a layer of cooked, shredded chicken mixed with canned diced tomatoes and cumin, a layer of tortillas, then a layer of sautéed spinach and diced red onions, topped with shredded cheese. Mozzarella is a favorite. Bake for about 25 minutes. Tonight I added black beans and used ground turkey breast instead of chicken. Also some chili powder and Fiesta Seasoning Mix from Tastefully Simple. It will last me all four days of my work week, which is just how long I can go without getting tired of it. I’ll add a little salsa verde to it. 

Dinner tonight, with leftovers for a day or two, is my chicken tortilla soup. In my opinion it’s the best dish I make. I’ve made my own recipe up from several over the years and it’s a bit different each time I make it. But it always includes shredded chicken, diced tomatoes, chicken stock, cumin and chili powder, and diced red onion. Tonight it also uses diced bell peppers. I make tortilla strips by cutting up corn tortillas and baking them in the oven.

So this way I’ll have reasonably healthy choices for lunch and a couple of dinners this week. If I workout after work I’m usually not home until 7:30 or 7:45. So that late I don’t want anything too heavy for dinner. Soup is perfect! 

2 thoughts on “The Secret Ingredient is Love. Also Chili Powder, Lots of Chili Powder.

Leave a Reply

