The Next Month Will Be Super Busy or How I Justified Staying in My Jammies All Day

Today I took a day off from everything. My choir wasn’t scheduled to sing, so I skipped church. I didn’t go to the gym or an exercise class. I didn’t run any errands. I stayed in my pajamas all day long and only stepped outside of my house to take out the trash. I felt a little guilty at first, especially about skipping the gym, but now, it’s been kind of an awesome day!

Dave’s done the same, and I feel like we’ve earned this lazy day. We close on the new house in a week, and it will be go, go, go for the next month. Choir rehearsals and church services are a must, obviously I have to go to work, and I’m committing to as many Zumba classes as I can because I need to work it all out (except for possibly 3/28, 4/6, and definitely 4/8) and Lord knows what my evening meals are going to look like from the 3rd-8th when we’re moving.

So the first half of the month will be focused on moving to the new place and tying up ends at the current place. The second half of April my mind will be on choir. Two of our biggest weeks are one right after the other this year. We have Easter services on April 16, then we perform our spring major work that we’ve been working on since January on April 23. It’s a beautiful piece, but definitely one of the most challenging pieces I’ve done.

Oh and right in the middle of all of that I have my yearly lab work and physical scheduled. At least there’s a good incentive to make sure that we’re not ordering pizza all the time while in the moving process! April is also an emotionally tough month, full of birthdays and rememberversary days for loved ones who are no longer here with us. So this should all be a nice distraction.

But we’ve made good headway in packing and purging of things we don’t need anymore. This stress is good stress, and it’s only temporary, and it will all be worth it. Shortly Dave and I will be enjoying a glass of wine on our front porch, and going for bike rides around our new neighborhood!

Leave a Reply

