Cleaning Out the Cupboard Comfort Food

Tomorrow we officially become homeowners!

We’ll be moving through the week and we’ve been cleaning and purging, including cleaning out our cupboards and freezer. I’m also coming down with a cold or in the midst of a seasonal allergy flare-up, so I want comfort food. Obviously, that means carbs!!!

We’ve had lasagna noodles in the cupboard, and we always have various types of canned tomato products, so I put together a recipe from Tastefully Simple for lasagna in a slow cooker (Crock Pot for all you Midwesterners).

I used to be a Tastefully Simple consultant, and this is one of my favorite of their Freezer Meal recipes. It takes a short time to assemble, then about 3-4 hours on low in the slow cooker. Here’s the link:

https://www.tastefullysimple.com/recipes/slow-cooker-lasagna-629127

I used ground turkey breast we had in the freezer instead of ground beef, and I did use the optional ricotta cheese. Next time I’ll add some chopped spinach to the cheese mix.


I recommend using this in a larger slow cooker, my smaller round one worked, but I get quite a few layers from the recipe and it did bubble over the side a bit.


A comforting recipe on a gloomy spring day that will give us some leftovers for quick dinners in the midst of moving. It’s also very easy to freeze if you do meal prep. Tastefully Simple has a lot of awesome options for meal kits and recipes that are easy to prep and freeze.

Enjoy the week, my next post likely be from our new house!!!!

Leave a Reply

