Falling from Cloud (Bread) Nine

Scrolling through Facebook, I came across an article from BuzzFeed Food featuring various recipes that use “Cloud Bread.”

https://www.buzzfeed.com/hannahloewentheil/low-carb-cloud-bread?

If you’re on Pintrest, you’ve likely heard of Cloud Bread. It’s supposed to be this wonderfully airy confection of fluffy goodness that takes the place of bread for anyone following a gluten free or low-carb diet.  It uses primarily three ingredients: eggs, cream of tartar, and cream cheese. There are of course many variations of that basic recipe. I saw one that used white sugar and others that added herbs.

I love fluffy, doughy bread, but it really isn’t the best thing for me to be eating. I thought Cloud Bread could be a nice alternative. Perhaps we could have it with soup or Indian Food, when I like having bread for dipping and scooping. So I decided to give it a try.

It didn’t turn out well.

If you look at the BuzzFeed piece, the “dough” is supposed to look like fluffy peaks, almost like a meringue. Mine did not. Nope. Not even a little teeny bit. My egg whites were foamy and never made it into the proper texture. My best guess is that I had a tiny bit of yolk that made it into the whites, changing the texture, or I just didn’t whip them enough, or whip them properly. I used a mixer, maybe I should have just done it by hand. So the dough that went into the oven looked more like runny liquid egg substitute. What came out of oven looked and tasted like golden brown Styrofoam, or at least what I imagine Styrofoam might taste like. No butter, nut butter, tomato sauce, pesto, or hummus is going to salvage this disaster.

I’ll try it again sometime soon. At least our lunch today was a success. But more on that later…

 

 

Leave a Reply

